OEM Radio change, can I do this?.....

Audio, ICE, Speakers, Head Unit, CD, CD Multi changer. If you have a question about any Citroen C3 related Audio, then this is the place.

Please indicate if there is a Citroen CD multi-changer, drawer or cubby under the CD/Radio, if there is the Navigation unit, CD or Radio options.
Forum rules
Only post questions about AUDIO equipment in this topic please. In car entertainment, ICE, Android Auto, stereo and sat-nav are all welcome here
My Name: Andy C

Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2021 5:54 am
Model: C3 Picasso
Year: 2009 (59)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 90002
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)

Post

Hello,

I've just bought a 59 plate Picasso after a gap of about 5 years having other marques.

The issue i have is that the OEM stereo will not load and play.. As soon as you put in the CD it spits it out. As I thought the unit would be expensive to repair I bought a similar used 2009 C3 stereo from a breaker.

I assumed this would be just a direct swap.... I'm a little worried now, as in my haste I didn't consider this may need coding to the car... Could someone tell me if this is the case or not.... Am i worrying over nothing???

Thank you in advance.
User avatar
My Name: Arfur Dent

Guru
Posts: 3303
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:47 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2002 (52)
Engine Size: 1.4 (16v)
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 100000
Trim Level: Exclusive
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: DV4 16-valve diesel (90 PS)
Has thanked: 258 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Post

Andy C wrote: Thu Jul 08, 2021 6:08 am Hello,

I've just bought a 59 plate Picasso after a gap of about 5 years having other marques.

The issue i have is that the OEM stereo will not load and play.. As soon as you put in the CD it spits it out. As I thought the unit would be expensive to repair I bought a similar used 2009 C3 stereo from a breaker.

I assumed this would be just a direct swap.... I'm a little worried now, as in my haste I didn't consider this may need coding to the car... Could someone tell me if this is the case or not.... Am i worrying over nothing???

Thank you in advance.
Hi Andy C

A stereo from a breakers will definitely need coding to the car.

If you don't code it to the car, it sort of works but there is a warning sound through the speakers and some of the functions may not work.


You need to use lexia tool to code it or find someone with one to do the same.
You can add an avatar to your account - Avatar or change your vehicle details - Car Bio or even add a signature to your posts - Signature. But this is not all you can do in the User Control Panel :)
My Name: Andy C

Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2021 5:54 am
Model: C3 Picasso
Year: 2009 (59)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 90002
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)

Post

Hi

Thank you very much for the info * How would i find someone with a Lexia tool? - do normal garages have this ?
User avatar
My Name: Arfur Dent

Guru
Posts: 3303
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:47 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2002 (52)
Engine Size: 1.4 (16v)
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 100000
Trim Level: Exclusive
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: DV4 16-valve diesel (90 PS)
Has thanked: 258 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Post

Andy C wrote: Thu Jul 08, 2021 8:11 pm Hi

Thank you very much for the info * How would i find someone with a Lexia tool? - do normal garages have this ?


Many of us here have our own lexia tool to do these jobs on our own C3 as they crop up. It's a full dealer tool. The link above will take you to our lexia topic to show what you need and what's involved.

Any mobile mechanic that is local can tell you if they have lexia/diagbox to code a OEM stereo to the VIN.

One that mentions 'Citroen specialist' would be one to ask if they can do it.
You can add an avatar to your account - Avatar or change your vehicle details - Car Bio or even add a signature to your posts - Signature. But this is not all you can do in the User Control Panel :)
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post