Installing a subwoofer - the Remote wire

Audio, ICE, Speakers, Head Unit, CD, CD Multi changer. If you have a question about any Citroen C3 related Audio, then this is the place.

Please indicate if there is a Citroen CD multi-changer, drawer or cubby under the CD/Radio, if there is the Navigation unit, CD or Radio options.
Forum rules
Only post questions about AUDIO equipment in this topic please. In car entertainment, ICE, Android Auto, stereo and sat-nav are all welcome here
My Name: samuelodog

Post

Hi all,

I am about to attempt installing my aftermarket stereo plus underseat subwoofer.

The only thing that scares me at the moment is the remote wire.

Anybody tell me step by step how to do this?

I have seen conflicting advice on the net.

Do I need to earth it/connect to battery/ strip any wires etc?

I'm a bit stuck.

Many thanks!
User avatar
My Name: C3driver52

Guru
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:40 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (03)
Engine Size: 1.4 i
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 79984
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Post

samuelodog wrote: The only thing that scares me at the moment is the remote wire.
Its only a bit of wire :D
samuelodog wrote:Do I need to earth it/connect to battery/ strip any wires etc?
Do not earth it out, do not connect it to the battery.

Connect one end of the wire to the bit on the sub that is marked 'remote' or whatever indicates that its the remote control enable connection. It should show you in the instructions for the sub.

Connect the other end to the the wire that is/was connected to the back of the radio which is on pin 5 of the 'A' plug. Probably an orange wire. Yes, you may need to cut and strip the orange wire, but it depends on what other wiring you have for a new stereo?

The diagram shows you which is plug A and B of the ISO plugs and you can see pin A5 there too.
ISO connector for external map/sun remote control A5
ISO connector for external map/sun remote control A5
My Name: samuelodog

Post

See! It began so simple and then it went all crazy!!:

'Connect the other end to the the wire that is/was connected to the back of the radio which is on pin 5 of the 'A' plug. Probably an orange wire. Yes, you may need to cut and strip the orange wire, but it depends on what other wiring you have for a new stereo? '

Please can you clarify this bit?

I connect the other end of my wire to my radio, or to a wire that is going into the radio? Why does it depend on the radio? Would it help if I told you my radio is Pioneer DEH X5500BT?

Many thanks

Sorry for being such a doofus!
My Name: samuelodog

Post

Ah - my pack has this: Two blue/white wires, one labelled Remote. Will the remote wire just go in one of these, or does it need to connect to both halves of the blue/white wire? Like some sort of 'T' junction?


Thanks
My Name: Missing Lincs

Moderator
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:29 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2004 (04)
Engine Size: 1.1
Fuel Type: Petrol
Trim Level: Desire
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Post

Check with your installation instructions, in the description of the blue/white wire it will say something like 'connect to remote input on external amplifier'.

You're interested in the part of the wire that connects to your radio. Insulate the part that connects to the car's wiring with tape. All you want is the signal from your new radio.

Looking at your picture, you have a choice of a bare wire connection or a crimp bullet connector. You can use whichever you have connections to fit. Personally I'd go with a bullet connector, but I've got a box of them at home :lol: Soldering and then insulating bare wire to bare wire will do just the same job.
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all the evidence and pretend you never tried :lol:
My Name: samuelodog

Post

Thanks

It just looks like the two parts of the blue/white wire belong together. I can't see why there are two parts to it if I just slot my remote wire into the one that goes into the stereo.
My Name: Missing Lincs

Moderator
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:29 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2004 (04)
Engine Size: 1.1
Fuel Type: Petrol
Trim Level: Desire
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Post

The wiring harness you get is 'universal', it is designed to be many things to many radio installers. There is no reason why you can't plug the two parts together and pick the signal up further into the car's wiring. For cars with built in separate amps you may need to do this. In your case, why complicate the job. Pick the wire up before it has chance to do anything it shouldn't!
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all the evidence and pretend you never tried :lol:
User avatar
My Name: C3driver52

Guru
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:40 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (03)
Engine Size: 1.4 i
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 79984
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Post

samuelodog wrote:Please can you clarify this bit?
The problem was not knowing what addition wiring you have over just the standard citroen plugs.
samuelodog wrote:I connect the other end of my wire to my radio, or to a wire that is going into the radio?
Its the same - the wire going to the stereo is the same wire that connects to the back of the stereo. Just find a nice easy point to connect to anywhere along that wire. (it will be anywhere from the stereo to the original citroen wiring loom).
samuelodog wrote:Why does it depend on the radio?
Because different radios are supplied with different wiring adaptors.
samuelodog wrote:Would it help if I told you my radio is Pioneer DEH X5500BT?
Yes
samuelodog wrote:Sorry for being such a doofus!
Sorry I didn't make it a bit more clear :oops:

This helps :D
samuelodog wrote:
wiring adaptor sub install citroen C3
wiring adaptor sub install citroen C3
samuelodog wrote: Like some sort of 'T' junction?
This would work :) Just strip your wire from the sub and jam it between the 2 parts that join, then cover with insulating tape.


Oh, and everything Missing Lincs says :D
My Name: samuelodog

Post

So I have 3 options:

1: I strip the wire, jam it between those two connections and then tape it all up.

2: I add a 'bullet?' connection to my remote wire.

3: I remove the blue tag thing and underneath it is a bare wire? And I crimp on a connection here and crimp on a connection to my remote wire? This would leave the bullet connectors dangling - or do I hook them up?

Are all the above feasible?

One better than any other?

Many thnaks
User avatar
My Name: Arfur Dent

Guru
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:47 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2002 (52)
Engine Size: 1.4 (16v)
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 100000
Trim Level: Exclusive
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: DV4 16-valve diesel (90 PS)
Has thanked: 259 times
Been thanked: 112 times

Post

samuelodog wrote:One better than any other?
Yes, the 'best' one is where you use a proper ratchet-action crimping tool (here).

Like in this video
samuelodog wrote:1: I strip the wire, jam it between those two connections and then tape it all up.
Why not? Its quick and cheap but not very professional.

samuelodog wrote:2: I add a 'bullet?' connection to my remote wire.
And the female version to the wiring. Its probably the most professional way to go, but you need to make a good crimp and not mash up the bullets with pliers or some other unsuitable tool. (see video)

samuelodog wrote:I remove the blue tag thing and underneath it is a bare wire?
I don't know what that is :?:

samuelodog wrote: I crimp on a connection here and crimp on a connection to my remote wire? This would leave the bullet connectors dangling - or do I hook them up?
Hook them up, otherwise you have wires dangling and if its not connected your radio stations may not tune in any more :o
You can add an avatar to your account - Avatar or change your vehicle details - Car Bio or even add a signature to your posts - Signature. But this is not all you can do in the User Control Panel :)
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post