Fitting aftermarket stereo - where am I going wrong?

Audio, ICE, Speakers, Head Unit, CD, CD Multi changer. If you have a question about any Citroen C3 related Audio, then this is the place.

Please indicate if there is a Citroen CD multi-changer, drawer or cubby under the CD/Radio, if there is the Navigation unit, CD or Radio options.
Forum rules
Only post questions about AUDIO equipment in this topic please. In car entertainment, ICE, Android Auto, stereo and sat-nav are all welcome here
My Name: m7891

Contributor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 10:01 am
Model: C3 2006-2009, Facelift model
Year: 2007 (07)
Engine Size: 1.4
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 53000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No

Post

I'm trying to fit a new stereo into my 07 desire. I'd read up on what was needed and thought it looked fairly straightforward.

I bought this:

https://www.halfords.com/sat-nav-audio/c ... tor-canbus

The old radio came out easily, and I connected the block of wires to the above adapter. I connected the relevant loose wires to the CAN interface and the ISO adapter that came with my new stereo. But nothing - when I turn the ignition the in-car display comes on, power gets to the 12v but the stereo is dead.

Have I missed a step somewhere? I read that the stalk adapter provides a connection to the ignition - does that happen "automatically" just by connecting it up, or is there something else I need to do?

Also, the stalk adapter only had the harness and the CAN interface in the box, whereas the photo on the Halfords site has a small loop-like wire as well - should that be in there (but would it make a difference anyway?).

Thanks in advance for any insight.
My Name: m7891

Contributor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 10:01 am
Model: C3 2006-2009, Facelift model
Year: 2007 (07)
Engine Size: 1.4
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 53000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No

Post

OK, scratch this - I found I was sitting on the loop wire (doh). When I plug it in the stereo works perfectly. And it switches on and off with the ignition so none of the wire-swapping issues that some seem to have had. But the steering controls don't seem to work...not sure why. But that's a minor issue now.

I'm hoping it's just co-incidence but my check engine light came on when I next started the car and the computer reported a problem with the pollution control system... :?

Edit to add - OK, I need a flylead for the steering controls. Off to Halfords I go...
User avatar
My Name: C3driver52

Guru
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:40 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (03)
Engine Size: 1.4 i
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 79984
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Post

m7891 wrote:OK, scratch this - I found I was sitting on the loop wire (doh). When I plug it in the stereo works perfectly. And it switches on and off with the ignition so none of the wire-swapping issues that some seem to have had. But the steering controls don't seem to work...not sure why. But that's a minor issue now.

I'm hoping it's just co-incidence but my check engine light came on when I next started the car and the computer reported a problem with the pollution control system... :?

Edit to add - OK, I need a flylead for the steering controls. Off to Halfords I go...

Thanks for the update. The real test is to see if the car will unlock by remote control the next morning.... :)
My Name: m7891

Contributor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 10:01 am
Model: C3 2006-2009, Facelift model
Year: 2007 (07)
Engine Size: 1.4
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 53000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No

Post

Sorry for the triple post, but after things looking OK I'm not sure they are.

Here's what happens - I have the radio on. When I turn off the ignition, it goes off and everything is fine. But when I come back to my car and unlock the doors with the key fob, the radio comes on and doesn't go off until I either manually switch it off, or start and stop the engine (not even turning to acc position and back works). But if I switch the radio off before the engine, it doesn't come back on with the doors unlocking.

I tried swapping pins 4 and 7 but that was definitely wrong because the radio kept losing memory.

Is this normal behaviour? Part of me thinks it might be, but it could get annoying if I leave the radio on then, say, just want something out the boot later on.
My Name: Missing Lincs

Moderator
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:29 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2004 (04)
Engine Size: 1.1
Fuel Type: Petrol
Trim Level: Desire
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Post

That doesn't sound normal to me. There's another topic running on this site, another member is having problems with an autoleads adaptor, it doesn't allow settings on the car, like the clock, which used to be controlled by the old radio, to be changed. Difficult to know what to suggest without getting hands on with your installation.

Something you mentioned earlier about the stalk controls not working, is that fixed? Depending on the radio you've fitted, some need a lead from the adaptor into the wired remote connection on the radio, usually a model specific lead.
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all the evidence and pretend you never tried :lol:
My Name: m7891

Contributor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 10:01 am
Model: C3 2006-2009, Facelift model
Year: 2007 (07)
Engine Size: 1.4
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 53000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No

Post

Missing Lincs wrote:That doesn't sound normal to me. There's another topic running on this site, another member is having problems with an autoleads adaptor, it doesn't allow settings on the car, like the clock, which used to be controlled by the old radio, to be changed. Difficult to know what to suggest without getting hands on with your installation.
The interior light also comes on when I unlock so it's as if the computer is programmed to send power to certain places when the doors are unlocked. For now it's not a huge issue - it's not as if it's staying on permanently and draining the battery. So long as I don't have the problem tomorrow of being unable to unlock.

I think the solution might be as "simple" as pulling power from the 12v instead because that always only gets power when I turn the key. Is that easy enough to do? And would it be a case of replacing the red wire from the harness with a wire from the 12v?

When my brother originally said to get an auto-electrician to fit it, I saw that as challenge accepted - I'd hate to fall at the final hurdle :lol:
Something you mentioned earlier about the stalk controls not working, is that fixed? Depending on the radio you've fitted, some need a lead from the adaptor into the wired remote connection on the radio, usually a model specific lead.
Yes, it's fixed. I popped into Halfords for the correct flylead. The stalk actually works better with this stereo than the old one - the button on the end now changes the input source where previously it did nothing.
My Name: m7891

Contributor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 10:01 am
Model: C3 2006-2009, Facelift model
Year: 2007 (07)
Engine Size: 1.4
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 53000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No

Post

I've been racking my brains all night and I might have found a solution.

The stereo is getting its power via the stalk adapter - I'm guessing it's a signal from that (relayed from the dash) that's providing ignition power when the doors are unlocked. What would happen if I bypassed the stalk adapter for ignition power? There's a 12v cable hanging loose from the ISO plugs that should serve this purpose.

That's my Saturday morning sorted. I'll update on how it goes.
My Name: Missing Lincs

Moderator
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:29 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2004 (04)
Engine Size: 1.1
Fuel Type: Petrol
Trim Level: Desire
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Post

If you have a switched 12 volt that powered the old radio then using it for the new one seems like a cracking idea. Let us know the outcome.
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all the evidence and pretend you never tried :lol:
My Name: m7891

Contributor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 10:01 am
Model: C3 2006-2009, Facelift model
Year: 2007 (07)
Engine Size: 1.4
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 53000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No

Post

No luck I'm afraid. I just don't understand why the 12v to the stereo is seemingly controlled by the central locking. The factory-fitted stereo only came on with the ignition if I left it on. I might just have to bite the bullet and get an auto-electrician to sort me out with a feed from the cigarette lighter.

I've also now realised that without the factory-fitted stereo, I lose the ability to set the clock which will be quite relevant at the end of the month. But in the cost/benefits analysis, I'm happy to cover up the built-in clock so I can gain Bluetooth hands-free :lol:
My Name: Missing Lincs

Moderator
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:29 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2004 (04)
Engine Size: 1.1
Fuel Type: Petrol
Trim Level: Desire
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Post

I know its more expense but you might want to try a different adaptor. Reading up here and on other forums, the adaptor from Connect2 seems to allow you to set the clock, I just wonder if it might also work better in terms of switching as well?

Its not uncommon on newer cars for the radio to take its on-off signal from the vehicles CAN-Bus, the electronic data signals that link various modules around the vehicle. With a lot of these systems there are several codes that could be used to do the switching, there will be an accessory on, engine system on etc etc. Its possible that a different adaptor might look at a different code.
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all the evidence and pretend you never tried :lol:
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post