1.0 (2015) engine swap (to a bigger engine?)

Questions specifically about a Petrol powered Citroen C3 (usually engine or fuel related problems).
Forum rules
One question per topic.
Petrol engine related faults, like injectors, error codes, overheating.
You can post more topics if necessary, but only one question per topic.
My Name: mega_stihl

Model: C3 2013-2017 Facelift A51
Year: 2015 (15)
Engine Size: I dont know
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)

Greetings

I am new to this forum, and yes, I will not lie about it, I made this account/topic because I could use some advice and input on this issue. My neighbour has a Citroën C3 (SC) from 2015, 1.0 petrol engine. His engine suddenly gave up, and the Citroën dealer recently diagnosed the engine to be a total loss. I haven't seen the car yet as it still needs to be towed from the citroën dealer to my place.

I used to be a mechanic for living until half a decade ago, but I still work on cars at home. I mainly work on oldschool BMW's up until the E46/E90, and I have the knowledge, experience and software to do engine swaps on such cars.

The thing is that my neighbour asked me to swap in another engine into his car. Ofcourse I said I wanted to give it a shot. The engine swap itself is probably the easy part. In and out and be done with it, if it's exactly the same engine. But my question is: Can I swap in a bigger engine, lets say a 1.4? I have no software for citroën and have no experience with their electronics at all. I do know that BMW often use the same ECU and this simply needs to be flashed. Can I use another engine into this C3 and still use the same ECU? If I use another ECU that came with the donor car, can I simply swap this over plug & play and for example let citroën do the coding? Or is it best to keep it simple and swap in the exact same engine?

I very much appreciate any input.

Kind regards
My Name: Ozvtr