high pressure fuel rail sensor has a fault

Questions specifically about a Diesel powered C3 (usually engine or fuel related problems)
Please provide as much description including adding photos directly to the topic or videos you have uploaded via youtube as possible.
Forum rules
One question per topic.
No Gearbox questions
Diesel engine related problems
Think: Diesel engine, diesel fuel system, diesel injectors and glow plugs
My Name: GINGERT

Contributor
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2002 (02)
Engine Size: 1.4 (16v)
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 150
Trim Level: Desire
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No

Afternoon guys. This is my first time to the site so here it goes.

I have an original shape (02) Citroen C3 1.4 HDI. I have been having a few problems with the engine management light coming on whilst Im driving which leads to the car stuttering but then the engine management light goes off and the car seems to be ok if not a little under powered. This has been going on indiscriminately for about three weeks now and now its got to the point where the car is increasingly harder to start.

I took the car into my local citroen dealer for them to place it onto a diagnostic machine. They have told me that the high pressure fuel rail sensor has a fault but the sensor and the fuel rail are all one item which will cost me a wacking £376.57 for a replacement to be supplied and fitted.

My questions are as follows.

A) Can the sensor be purchased separately and if so is it worth it?
B) How hard is it to fit a sensor/fuel rail and what is involved
C) Is it worth purchasing a second hand rail and sensor.

I could really do with some sound advice here as i lost my job today so money will be extremely tight.

Thanks Guys

Tony
My Name: C3driver52

Guru
Year: 2003 (03)
Engine Size: 1.4 i
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 79984
Trim Level: VTR+
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)

Hi Tony, welcome to the forum.