BSI ERROR??

Questions not related to the fuel type, like Manual Gearbox, Body Work, Lights, Interior trim and Seats, Steering, Brakes, Beeping, Wheels and Tyres to be asked in this topic only.

Audio has its own section - see further down the page.

Please provide as much information as you think may be relevant like recent work on the car and you can attach photographs directly to your topic using the form below the text box.
Forum rules
One question per topic.
No Engine questions
Think: Manual Gearbox, Seats, Bodywork, Lighting, Interior, A/C, Heater, Wheels, Steering, Brakes, Tyres and Suspension
My Name: pluriel-DK

Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 2:28 pm

Post

I have checked the fuses, and they are all OK.

I have look for ways to borrow some 12v from the lock button in the Dashboard. Is this possible without any problems regarding the central locking system?

Other places to borrow some 12v from?
User avatar
My Name: Arfur Dent

Guru
Posts: 3441
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:47 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2002 (52)
Engine Size: 1.4 (16v)
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 100000
Trim Level: Exclusive
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: DV4 16-valve diesel (90 PS)
Has thanked: 320 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Post

Cigarette lighter or power socket (on some models) is an ideal place to take power from, its switched by the ignition.

Do you need a permanent 12v or a switched by the accessories 12v
You can add an avatar to your account - Avatar or change your vehicle details - Car Bio or even add a signature to your posts - Signature. But this is not all you can do in the User Control Panel :)
My Name: pluriel-DK

Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 2:28 pm

Post

I need a permanent 12v as a memory wire for my new radio. I have noticed that the cigarette lighter is only on when the ignition is on, so that is not an option.

Do i need to pull it from the battery then or are there other options?
My Name: Missing Lincs

Moderator
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:29 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2004 (04)
Engine Size: 1.1
Fuel Type: Petrol
Trim Level: Desire
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Post

If you are borrowing 12 volts for the radio it needs to be a substantial supply. On most radios, the permanent 12 volt supply is the main supply. The switched 12 volts is only a low current signal to turn the radio on and off with the ignition.
Rather than upsetting other systems, it might be safer to take a supply from the battery. The supply will need a fuse close to the battery.
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all the evidence and pretend you never tried :lol:
User avatar
My Name: Arfur Dent

Guru
Posts: 3441
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:47 pm
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2002 (52)
Engine Size: 1.4 (16v)
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 100000
Trim Level: Exclusive
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: DV4 16-valve diesel (90 PS)
Has thanked: 320 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Post

Fitting an aftermarket stereo on the C3 usually only needs the pins 4 and 7 on the ISO power plug transposed to get the memory and stereo power working correctly. It would be worth checking these, they are controlled by the computer (BSI) so don't always work as you may expect.

If your new radio needs more power than the standard CD/Radio clarion unit, then as others have suggested, a fused supply from he battery live is going to give you all the amps you could ever need without worrying about burning wires or popping fuses.
You can add an avatar to your account - Avatar or change your vehicle details - Car Bio or even add a signature to your posts - Signature. But this is not all you can do in the User Control Panel :)
My Name: pluriel-DK

Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 2:28 pm

Post

Thank you for the answers!

I will contact my mechanic and ask if he is up for the job.

Both 12v dies when the bsi box cuts the power, maybe there is a wire that is not correctly placed?
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post