Selected gears not appearing on display

If you have Automatic gearbox problems or issues that would only affect an Auto, please ask here.

Please provide as much information as possible including photos you have taken and uploaded directly to the topic.
Forum rules
One question per topic about an Auto or semi-auto gearbox can be posted in this section
No engine questions
Think: Auto not changing up or down, snowflake/sport flashing, flappy paddles, actuator fault and sensodrive not changing gear.
User avatar
My Name: Ozvtr

Moderator
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:31 am
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (53)
Engine Size: 1.4 (8v)
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: Other
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Post

tommy_xx84 wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 11:38 pm Mate... Got lexia installed and working...had a veey quick look but it seems like lots of modules aren't being recognised...
it came up with a warning saying like unexpected BSI initialization and faulty oil gauge...

Not really used with how Lexia works for obvious reasons (newbie with it) so...i was wondering if you might be keen for a catchup maybe and go through it together on a weekend... beers on me 🤪🤪
As far as LEXIA is concerned you will probably get a better response from others on this forum, particularly as your car is a later model and I'm not familiar with it.
But I wont leave you dangling.
User avatar
My Name: Ozvtr

Moderator
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:31 am
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (53)
Engine Size: 1.4 (8v)
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: Other
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Post

I am not sure but the "oil gauge" would be the oil level sensor. Its up to you, but at the best of times these things are unreliable. I would recommend removing it and cleaning it with brake cleaner or throttle body cleaner. It's basically a long tube and it gets gunk in it. If that doesn't fix it it's probably faulty.

The P1799 and P1763 look like the multi function switch. If you are sure you cleaned it as well as you can and you have adjusted it as well as you can, looks like it needs to be replaced.

If LEXIA gets an "ECU not recognized" error, it's one of a couple of things.
It's not the ECU it was expecting. Given the RPO number and car model, LEXIA builds up a table of ECU's that should be in there (model, brand). If it's not correct it whinges.
It cant talk to the ECU. The "language" LEXIA uses to talk to the ECU is incorrect. (or) The hardware can't interface with the ECU.
Generally with later cars its the hardware. As I said your LEXIA needs to be the "full chip" version (I'm not saying yours isn't, I'm just saying it needs to be).
You need to have the correct revision of the software, so it knows what to look for and how to talk to it.
Again, I am not an expert on this but there are some guys on here better than me when it comes to this stuff and hopefully they will pop up.

If you are impatient (LOL) you can try telling LEXIA that the car is the Peugeot equivalent. It quite often does better under these circumstances to tell LEXIA you car is a Peugeot...give it a go.
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

Ozvtr wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:12 am As far as LEXIA is concerned you will probably get a better response from others on this forum, particularly as your car is a later model and I'm not familiar with it.
But I wont leave you dangling.
All good... I am in contact with the seller to try to understand why modules aren't being recognized even though i can do everything.
Interface is a full chip #C on latest firmware.
We'll see if I can get an answer to that or not.
My next try is to not use a VM to run Windows and the program and see if it makes any difference.
For now though, i can use it anyway
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

Ozvtr wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:53 am I am not sure but the "oil gauge" would be the oil level sensor. Its up to you, but at the best of times these things are unreliable. I would recommend removing it and cleaning it with brake cleaner or throttle body cleaner. It's basically a long tube and it gets gunk in it. If that doesn't fix it it's probably faulty.

The P1799 and P1763 look like the multi function switch. If you are sure you cleaned it as well as you can and you have adjusted it as well as you can, looks like it needs to be replaced.

If LEXIA gets an "ECU not recognized" error, it's one of a couple of things.
It's not the ECU it was expecting. Given the RPO number and car model, LEXIA builds up a table of ECU's that should be in there (model, brand). If it's not correct it whinges.
It cant talk to the ECU. The "language" LEXIA uses to talk to the ECU is incorrect. (or) The hardware can't interface with the ECU.
Generally with later cars its the hardware. As I said your LEXIA needs to be the "full chip" version (I'm not saying yours isn't, I'm just saying it needs to be).
You need to have the correct revision of the software, so it knows what to look for and how to talk to it.
Again, I am not an expert on this but there are some guys on here better than me when it comes to this stuff and hopefully they will pop up.

If you are impatient (LOL) you can try telling LEXIA that the car is the Peugeot equivalent. It quite often does better under these circumstances to tell LEXIA you car is a Peugeot...give it a go.

OK... little (happy) update...
Last night a went a little more into specifics. Found where i can change configs etc.

And i was really happy to see that my initial guess was actually right.
BSI was set on MANUAL gearbox instead of AUTOMATIC
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 8.59.59 AM.jpeg
Changed to the right setting and tadaaaa...
- Gears displayed
- Sport/Snow displayed
- Reverse light goes ON when on reverse
- Rear wiper goes one when front wipers and reverse are engaged
- Can hear the "ding" from the dash when reverse is engaged
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM.jpeg (35.09 KiB) Viewed 295 times
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (1).jpeg (35.12 KiB) Viewed 295 times
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (2).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (2).jpeg (42.26 KiB) Viewed 295 times
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (3).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (3).jpeg (45.54 KiB) Viewed 295 times
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (4).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (4).jpeg (42.17 KiB) Viewed 295 times
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (5).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-20 at 9.14.38 AM (5).jpeg (35.59 KiB) Viewed 295 times
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-19 at 7.17.12 PM.jpeg
I guess that either the BSI either
- reset somehow to the default MANUAL value
- replaced with one from a manual car
and maybe the operator forgot to change it back OR didn't have the right tool to do so

So we can call that sorted!!!! 8-) 8-)

In regards of the errors

After above change, I did a new scan.
F40A, P1799 and P1763 all disappeared.
Assumption is that given that BSI was on MANUAL mode it was "misreading" those inputs due "open circuits" or similar (input to be on different pins or not be provided at all) and raising them as errors.

Went for a 30 minutes drive, reconnected the tool to see if they came back again or not.
Nothing so far, so it seems like it was a false reading due BSI configuration.
I'll re-check in a week or two and hopefully they won't be back :P :P
User avatar
My Name: Ozvtr

Moderator
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:31 am
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (53)
Engine Size: 1.4 (8v)
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: Other
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Post

That's a great result and at a fraction of the cost of getting it done "professionally".

You cant just swap the BSI. There is too much "stuff" in there that needs to be configured. Particularly the keys and engine immobilizer. I cant think of any scenario that explains this...logically!

I guess we will never know WTF happened.

I own a C2 and in 2005 there was an update to the sensodrive gearbox that (just so happened to) disable the cruise control. At the time there was a bug in LEXIA (but not Peugeot planet) that "lost" the ability to activate the cruise control!! So there are a lot of C2/C3s running around the UK without cruise control because the technicians couldn't re-activate the cruise control. Smart technicians used Peugeot planet to re-activate the cruise control! My point is that anything is possible if the technician is not paying attention!

The multi function switch is connected directly to the BSI and works exactly the same as a manual gearbox as far as the reversing switch goes. At least as far as the older vehicles are concerned. So why would "telling" the BSI it's a manual or automatic make a difference to the reverse lights and ETC??? I understand the BSI not reporting the gear position but not the reverse lights and wiper not working.

That's how I found out how to operate LEXIA: rummage around until you find what you want and experiment.

"If you want a job done properly, do it your self". My philosophy is: "I can do a job as badly as any professional can" and I've seen a lot of bad jobs done by professionals!
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

Ozvtr wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 11:29 pm That's a great result and at a fraction of the cost of getting it done "professionally".

You cant just swap the BSI. There is too much "stuff" in there that needs to be configured. Particularly the keys and engine immobilizer. I cant think of any scenario that explains this...logically!

I guess we will never know WTF happened.

I own a C2 and in 2005 there was an update to the sensodrive gearbox that (just so happened to) disable the cruise control. At the time there was a bug in LEXIA (but not Peugeot planet) that "lost" the ability to activate the cruise control!! So there are a lot of C2/C3s running around the UK without cruise control because the technicians couldn't re-activate the cruise control. Smart technicians used Peugeot planet to re-activate the cruise control! My point is that anything is possible if the technician is not paying attention!

The multi function switch is connected directly to the BSI and works exactly the same as a manual gearbox as far as the reversing switch goes. At least as far as the older vehicles are concerned. So why would "telling" the BSI it's a manual or automatic make a difference to the reverse lights and ETC??? I understand the BSI not reporting the gear position but not the reverse lights and wiper not working.

That's how I found out how to operate LEXIA: rummage around until you find what you want and experiment.

"If you want a job done properly, do it your self". My philosophy is: "I can do a job as badly as any professional can" and I've seen a lot of bad jobs done by professionals!
Hey mate!!!
Sorry for the late reply... I wanted to do it sooner, but forum seemed to be down for quite a while...what happened there? Domain issues?

anyway...YES...great result at a fraction of the cost, also considering that i got 2K price reduction because of it :P... my hunch paid off ahaha...

In regard of what it might have happened, i have to guesses:
- If there was a BSI swap, despite all that follows with it, they might have forgotten to set it up properly
- If there was an update done, it might have reverted that value back to manual (default usually).

In regard of why telling the BSI which mode is (manual/automatic) might have made a difference, my guess based on my IT background and despite how the reverse switch works, is as follow:
- When in manual mode, BSI should theoretically on rely on the reverse switch input to enable features (such reverse light etc)... but maybe, there is some smart there to cross check configuration's consistency between modules etc (BSI/gearbox) and either
- - fails the check (BSI MANUAL <=> TRANSMISSION AUTO) and cuts features anyway
- - fails the check (BSI MANUAL + POSITION SWITCH INPUT <=> TRANSMISSION AUTO) and cuts features anyway

Just educated guesses obviously, but yeah... I guess it's possible.
User avatar
My Name: Ozvtr

Moderator
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:31 am
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (53)
Engine Size: 1.4 (8v)
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: Other
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Post

tommy_xx84 wrote: Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:36 pm
Sorry for the late reply... I wanted to do it sooner, but forum seemed to be down for quite a while...what happened there? Domain issues?
I haven't had any real problems. I think the site might have been down for maintenance over night (daytime our time) once or twice over the last couple of months?

There is a YouTube video called "The costliest engineering mistakes ever made" (or something like that). Because of the Billions of AUD (a few GBP :lol:) wasted by the Liberal government procrastinating on a national internet solution, it rates as one of the top 10 engineering blunders (as Jeremy Clarkson would say)..IN THE WORLD!
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post