Selected gears not appearing on display

If you have Automatic gearbox problems or issues that would only affect an Auto, please ask here.

Please provide as much information as possible including photos you have taken and uploaded directly to the topic.
Forum rules
One question per topic about an Auto or semi-auto gearbox can be posted in this section
No engine questions
Think: Auto not changing up or down, snowflake/sport flashing, flappy paddles, actuator fault and sensodrive not changing gear.
User avatar
My Name: C3CAR

Guru
Posts: 2643
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 10:01 am
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2002 (02)
Engine Size: 1.4 (16v)
Fuel Type: Diesel
Mileage: 140000
Trim Level: Exclusive
Gearbox: Manual 5 speed
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD (UK)
Engine name: DV4 16-valve diesel (90 PS)
Has thanked: 170 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Post

tommy_xx84 wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 9:50 pm
Citroen-Driver wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 10:47 am One of the good reasons to fully inspect (and test the features) of a car, before parting with any money because these faults can be very difficult to track down :|
Car and all the features were fully inspected and tested.
Car came clean from a scan made at the shop (not sure how "detailed" the tool could be/go)

Reason why we decided to go anyway with it is because it seemd to me that it might have been just a misconfiguration on modules as everything else is spot on on the car

Generic code scanners only read the engine faults.
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

Yes, that is it. Did you read my link to see what is required to run it?
Yes 👍
Already set up a VM to run XP. That link mentioned it's windows7 compatible so i might use that instead (easier with licenses, .net frameworks updates etc) once i get it 👍
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

C3CAR wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 10:25 pm Generic code scanners only read the engine faults.
The generic ones yes, I'm aware of that, but given that the shop is labeled as one that deals witg "european cars etc", they might had a more specific one? not sure as for obvious reasons, you don't get to know those details...

anyway... it was a bargain in terms of price and car is fully functional aside from this "problem" so even if something major comes up at some point, it'll have served the purpose we got it for by then... 🤪🤪

Also, here in Australia they aren't that good anyway with dealing with European cars due "too much electronic" to understand for them...so... most of the time (might not be this case..who knows)... it's just matter to do some more accurate researches etc and you get a very good deal after it...

Trying to fix that isn't mandatory for us, but given that i was in the vw world back in Italy (where I'm from), I'm prettt familiar with these sort of things (VAG-COM for vw etc) so...yeah...decided to give it a go anyway and see how it'd turn out 👍👍🤪
User avatar
My Name: Ozvtr

Moderator
Posts: 998
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:31 am
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (53)
Engine Size: 1.4 (8v)
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: Other
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Post

tommy_xx84 wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 9:50 pm
Citroen-Driver wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 10:47 am One of the good reasons to fully inspect (and test the features) of a car, before parting with any money because these faults can be very difficult to track down :|
Car and all the features were fully inspected and tested.
Car came clean from a scan made at the shop (not sure how "detailed" the tool could be/go)

Reason why we decided to go anyway with it is because it seemd to me that it might have been just a misconfiguration on modules as everything else is spot on on the car
G,day mate! LOL. I'm from Brissie.

Yes, looks like a configuration problem. Although I cant see how it happened?
For the gearbox to run correctly it needs to talk to the engine ECU and to a lesser degree the ABS module and the BSI. It could be possible to configure the system as a 'manual' and it wouldn't display the selector positions. But that's just a guess. Who would do that? Why would they do that?
You will need to get a LEXIA on it and check out the configuration first.
All the LEXIAs are Chinese knock-offs and the quality is dodgy at the best of times, no matter who you get it from. It would be best get one from Ebay in Aus, get the 'full chip' version with the latest version of Diagbox. Make sure you can get your money back or a replacement unit if you cant get it to work!

For the later C3's it is CRITICAL that you get an actual full chip version LEXIA and the latest diagbox!! A lot of the sellers will say full chip but it wont be!
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

Ozvtr wrote: Fri Dec 10, 2021 7:37 am G,day mate! LOL. I'm from Brissie.

Yes, looks like a configuration problem. Although I cant see how it happened?
For the gearbox to run correctly it needs to talk to the engine ECU and to a lesser degree the ABS module and the BSI. It could be possible to configure the system as a 'manual' and it wouldn't display the selector positions. But that's just a guess. Who would do that? Why would they do that?
You will need to get a LEXIA on it and check out the configuration first.
All the LEXIAs are Chinese knock-offs and the quality is dodgy at the best of times, no matter who you get it from. It would be best get one from Ebay in Aus, get the 'full chip' version with the latest version of Diagbox. Make sure you can get your money back or a replacement unit if you cant get it to work!

For the later C3's it is CRITICAL that you get an actual full chip version LEXIA and the latest diagbox!! A lot of the sellers will say full chip but it wont be!
No wayyyy... ahah... lol... it's really true that it's small world...
Where? north? south?

Yep...it seems it might be configuration to me (but i might also be wrong)...
If it's configuration, my guess it's that someone might have done an update maybe and forgot to set up everything correctly again...

About Lexia etc...yes... i saw lots of them from China... but even you say "look for some from Australia", they'll be most likely sourced from there anyway...

Don't you have one maybe that i could borrow in the interim? 🤪
Happy to catch up eventually (even if don't have one)...it's always cool to meet forum's members...
Kinda of miss that from the times where i was admin in the vw forum back in Italy 🤣🤣
User avatar
My Name: Ozvtr

Moderator
Posts: 998
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:31 am
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (53)
Engine Size: 1.4 (8v)
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: Other
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Post

tommy_xx84 wrote: Fri Dec 10, 2021 9:50 am No wayyyy... ahah... lol... it's really true that it's small world...
Where? north? south?
Ipswich.
tommy_xx84 wrote: Fri Dec 10, 2021 9:50 am About Lexia etc...yes... i saw lots of them from China... but even you say "look for some from Australia", they'll be most likely sourced from there anyway...
Oh, they will be, you just have to find one that works.
tommy_xx84 wrote: Fri Dec 10, 2021 9:50 am Don't you have one maybe that i could borrow in the interim? 🤪
Mine is not the full chip version. It even struggles on my sons C4VTS. I had to tell LEXIA the car was a Peugeot to get it to work. As I said, they are dodgy.
It works fine on my C3 but that's an old CAN-VAN car (2003). The first LEXIA I got from Banggood would only find the engine ECU! They p!$$ed me around and I gave up.
The next one I got from an Australian Ebay seller and that worked...on the C3. As I said, when I put it on my sons C4...BZZZ, fail!
If you live on the northside, there is a guy on the AussieFrogs forum called Dimistyle who might be able to help.
You need the full chip version as they have the new ECU interface protocol. My LEXIA wont have access to some (if not all) of your ECU's.
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

Mate... sorry for the late reply... just been very busy during these last weeks before Christmas....

Ipswich...cool...not too far anyway....
I am on the north side yes... around Strathpine...

By the way... I've ordered the cable etc... really hoped to get it before Christmas...but i doubt it'll happen...I'll do more diggining then...

In the meantime i noitced another strange thing to me...

rear wiper...

I don't seem to see any washer on the rear window...
The ring on the stalk has the "wash-wipe"...
when you hit it, the wiper starts, pump is running but nothing happens at the back (no water coming out....no washer nozzle that i can see)...

so... it seems the car might not have one...but still...the stalk starts the pump...which makes me think that also that one might be configured wrong...(which could reinforce the hypothesis of lots of misconfigurations, including the display)

anyway...we'll see when the cable arrives.

btw...rear washer was optional on thi car or it's simply not part of the desgin?
User avatar
My Name: Ozvtr

Moderator
Posts: 998
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:31 am
Model: C3 2002-2005, Original shape model
Year: 2003 (53)
Engine Size: 1.4 (8v)
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: Other
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Engine name: TU3 (75 PS)
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Post

I'm sorry but I'm not that familiar with the later model C3's but I can't see why it wouldn't have a rear washer. Hopefully some one with a bit more knowledge will come along.

Installing the software (diagbox) onto your computer is a pain. There are a couple of guys on here who are pretty good at the software side of things.

The later versions of diagbox, apparently, will run on later versions of windows (7 and 10). I am running an earlier version on windows XP.

Just shout out, some one should come along and help you. :D
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

All good mate...

had a better look and it does have the washer... it's integrated with the 3rd stop....really hard to see it... i bloody like its design now that i noticed where it is ahahah

it seems clogged with dirt...need to figure out how to get the 3rd stop off an clean...

in regards for the sw... I'm not concerned... I'm a software developer...🤪🤪

but I'll def shout out if need help 👍👍
My Name: tommy_xx84

Top Contributor
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:35 am
Model: C3 2009-2013, New shape (A51)
Year: 2013 (13)
Engine Size: 1.6
Fuel Type: Petrol
Mileage: 80000
Trim Level: VTR+
Gearbox: Automatic PRND
DPF: No
LHD or RHD: RHD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post

Ozvtr wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:40 am Hmmm, interesting.
Yes indeed 🤣🤣
Ozvtr wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:40 am The reversing light and rear wiper are activated by the BSI. The BSI receives an electrical signal from the position switch on top of the gearbox. This is a straight forward wired connection from the gearbox position switch assembly to the BSI. It is not multiplexed or anything fancy like that
Yes, that's my understanding too and I'm planning to try to bypass the switch to see if light/wiper turn on... just need to find where it is...haven't looked at it yet...
If they do, i can exclude that side of it (after i can confirm that the switch is also ok)
Ozvtr wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:40 am The only other "hard wired" connection from the gearbox is the 'park/neutral' contacts in the position switch assembly.
Would you be able to roughly indicate where this would be?
Ozvtr wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:40 am All other information goes through the CAN BUS. If you CAN start the engine in neutral or park AND you CAN'T start it in any other position, then that set of contacts is working OK. Again those contacts do not go through the auto box and they only go to the starter lock-out relay.
Yes, can start in N or P... not in any other..so i guess above switch should be ok
Ozvtr wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:40 am So, on the surface, you have the reversing contacts not working but the neutral/park contacts working.

Again, on the surface, it looks like the position switch or a bad contact at the electrical connector.

You can try disconnecting the big multi-way connector on top, at the back, of the gearbox. Spray electrical contact cleaner on both sides and reassemble it.
I'll have a look at the connector and see how it looks
Ozvtr wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:40 am The selector switch can be pulled apart and cleaned, however, it's not supposed to be! It sits on the very top of the gearbox and the bowden cable from the selector in the cabin connects to it.
i guess you answered to my question above here 🤪
Ozvtr wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:40 am I don't know enough about the auto box to say why it seems to run OK but not display a gear. Translated, that means I don't know if it's a single point of failure or multi points of failure. But for my money it's looking like the position selector switch.
Not sure...but I'm hoping that when my Lexia arrives (next week hopefully) i should be able to find more info on what's not right
Ozvtr wrote: Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:40 am Does the gearbox change up and down gears in the 'manual' mode? Does it display a gear then? This mode does not go through the selector switch on the gearbox. In this mode you are controlling the gearbox directly. I'll go back and have a look at your original post.
yes, it changes gears with no issues on manual mode
no, it does not display anything

i believe the reverse AND display issue might be connected...but we'll see what will come up when i can do a full scan

anyway... all you mentioned above, even though you don't know much about auto transmission as you said, were really helpful in confirming some of my thoughts 👍👍
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post